(72) Mayonnaise

I used to be a Duke’s girl.

As in Duke’s mayonnaise.  If you don’t live in the South, you’ve never heard of it.  I learned that lesson when I moved to California for graduate school and went grocery shopping for the first time.  I stood in the condiments aisle for a good twenty minutes, scanning the labels, sure that I must be missing the Duke’s.

But I wasn’t.

Because Duke’s is Southern.

Then one day, a couple of years ago, I noticed “NEW!  Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil!”  So I committed a little light treason and purchased the Kraft.  It was good.

This mayonnaise is neither Duke’s nor is it Kraft w/OO.  Although it is made with olive oil.  Go figure.  It tastes like a big ol’ spoonful of… wait for it… olive oil.  Not what you want in a good mayo (or maybe you do).

Maybe I should add more lemon juice?  More salt?  Try a different oil?  Try an oil combo (you know, like a one-two punch of olive oil and sunflower oil… something like that).  ‘Cause this recipe ain’t cuttin’ it.  Sorry, Martha (as in: Martha Stewart, the source of this recipe).

I’d love to hear your suggestions.  I’d also love for you to make this mayo– but vary it (try new oils! add more lemon! double the mustard!)– and let me know what works for you.  ‘Cause I’m kinda, you know, nervous to try again (my five-year-old self would be so disappointed).

Mayonnaise

adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cooking School

1 large egg yolk
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon coarse salt, or to taste
1 cup olive oil*

*Try sunflower, safflower, or grapeseed oil instead… or a combo!

Place egg yolk, mustard, 1 teaspoon lemon juice, and salt in a mixing bowl and whisk together until mixture is smooth and thoroughly combined.

To add oil, start with one drop at a time and whisk constantly until the mixture begins to thicken; add remaining teaspoon lemon juice, then pour the oil in a very slow, steady stream and continue whisking until all the oil is incorporated and the sauce is thick and emulsified.

Use immediately, or refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

One thought on “(72) Mayonnaise

  1. […] with that dozen eggs, I can make not only an angel food cake, but also lemon curd, ice cream, and mayonnaise.  That’s some sweet business right […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

