(13) Turkey & Dumplings

About, oh, three weeks ago, we woke to six inches of snow.  If you live anywhere north of the Mason Dixon line, I’m sure you are scoffing at the “measly six inches,” but around these here parts, six inches is serious stuff.  I mean all the bread and milk were gone when I went to the grocery store, and Lowe’s had to bring in an extra shipment of generators.  It’s true.  I saw it on the news.

For the record, neither I nor my husband bought a generator.  Nor did I stock up on milk and bread.  Why do people buy milk and bread before a snow storm anyway?

After a nice little traipse through the snow with my man and my baby, I decided the perfect meal for a snow day would be turkey and dumplings.  (And I needed to put the leftover turkey from the previous Friday Night Dinner to use.)  Turkey & Dumplings (or, the more traditional Chicken & Dumplings) is a fairly simple, easily adaptable, all-in-one dish.  You can toss in any number of veggies and hearty up the dumplings with your choice of grains.  I went traditional this time and stuck with onions, celery and carrots and plain whole wheat.

Turkey & Dumplings
2 cups leftover turkey, shredded/chopped/diced
2 celery ribs, sliced
4 carrots, sliced
1 onion, sliced
2 cups turkey stock
2 tablespoons dried parsley
Salt & Pepper

2 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
4 tablespoons olive oil

In a drizzle of olive oil, sautee onions until soft.

Add celery, carrots, parsley, salt and pepper. Continue to sautee until carrots and celery just begin to soften.

Pour in stock and toss in turkey.  (Note: I did not have time to thaw the turkey stock I had previously made, so I pulled out a bone I’d been saving for stock and tossed it, along with 2 cups of water, into the pot.  Instant (sort of) broth.)  Simmer for 30 minutes, or until turkey is thoroughly heated.

Meanwhile, combine flour, baking powder, salt, milk and oil.  Mix well to form a stiff dough.

Drop tablespoons of dough into the simmering soup.

Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Remove lid and behold!  Turkey and dumplings.

Plate it up, son.  And eat!

Leave a Reply

