(20-21) Lemon-Poppy Seed Pancakes with Blueberry Cane Syrup

Forever ago (like two weeks ago), my older sister and her family came for a weekend visit.  The snow still had not completely melted, so her boys and my boy (and, let’s face it, parents, too) had a chance to play in the few inches of snow left in our yard.  B-boy had his first sled ride, however short-lived it might have been, and my oldest nephew ran around throwing handfuls of snow at everyone (otherwise known as snowballs).

We started our day of snow play with a pancake breakfast.  The recipe came from, you guessed it, Southern Living (I really need to subscribe to some new magazines).  I tweaked the syrup recipe significantly.  We do not have maple syrup in the cabinet, but we do have several bottles (a case) of cane syrup cooked by my grandfather-in-law.  He literally takes sugar cane, grinds it, then cooks it down in a ginormous cast iron cauldron.  That’s pretty from-scratch if you ask me.

I also changed up the berries.  I looked for frozen blackberries in a few grocery stores and, unbelievably, could not find a single pack!  So I just used our on-hand frozen blueberries (supplied by A-Man’s grandfather).  I adore blackberries, though, so I was a little disappointed I couldn’t find any.  Nevertheless, the blueberries, lemon and poppy seed were a fantastic flavor combination, made all the better by freshly whipped cream.

Let me just finish by saying how disappointed I am that SL called for “all-purpose baking mix” (i.e. Bisquick) in their recipe.  Homemade pancakes are so-oo-oo much better than that yucky pancake mix.  I know some people can get really attached to their Bisquick, but seriously, give homemade a try.  They may not be as easy as “just add water,” but I promise you whisking together some flour, leavening, milk and fat isn’t much more involved.  The results, however, don’t compare.

Just ask these guys:

Nephew #1

Nephew #2

 

Lemon-Poppy Seed Pancakes

1 egg
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1  to 2 Tbsp. poppy seeds
1  tablespoon  lemon zest
1 1/4  cups  cold club soda

Blueberry Syrup
Whipped Cream


Whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Let stand 3 minutes.


Cook batter, 1/2 cup at a time, in an oil-coated frying pan.

Blueberry Cane Syrup

1/2 cup cane syrup
1-1/2 cup blueberries
1 teaspoon lemon zest
2 teaspoons lemon juice


Combine ingredients in a small saucepan.  Simmer until berries just begin to burst.

Whipped Cream

1 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Whip together cream and sugar until stiff peaks form.

Leave a Reply

