(25-26) Chili Stuffed Red Peppers & Creamed Spinach

The Saturday during my sister’s family’s visit, I planned to make chili.  A-Man really loves making chili, so he asked if he could make it.  I’m a terrific wife, so I said yes.

Then he started going through the cupboards.  “Where is the tomato paste?  The diced tomatoes?  The chili seasoning?”

Well I didn’t buy any of that.  I bought fresh tomatoes.  Made tomato paste.  And we have seasonings, so why would I buy a special little packet?

The conclusion of the matter: A-Man made a late evening run to the grocery store and my tomatoes were left, abandoned, on the counter.  So I won’t blog about chili (yet).

I will, however, blog the dishes I made with the leftover chili.  I suppose technically this meal isn’t “totally from scratch,” but… eh.  Get over it.

 

Chili Stuffed Peppers

Chili
Rice
Red bell peppers
**Measurements are totally dependent upon the number of servings.  Use your best judgment.  Or if you do not possess good judgment, just guess.

 


Combine chili and rice.

 


Cut a small sliver off the bottom of each red bell pepper (so they won’t topple over in the baking dish).  Cut the tops off the peppers and pull out the guts.  Fill each pepper to the brim with rice-chili mix.  Bake for 30 minutes at 350°.

 

 

Creamed Spinach

4 cups spinach
4oz cream cheese
garlic, garlic, garlic– minced

 


Garlic! Glorious garlic! Mince.

 


Sauté spinach until wilted.  Add garlic and cream cheese, combine, heat.  Salt & pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

