(27) Fish Chowder

I’d never had fish chowder before I married the A-Man.

And frankly, it took him two years to make it for me.  Four if you count dating.

But it was worth the wait.

Chowder always sounded amazing (because I love a good, creamy soup), but the typical chowder is clam, so… you know… I never ate it.  And I guess I just never considered fish chowder.  I dunno…

I really want to write a few more paragraphs using “chowder,” because every time I type it, I think “chowda.”  Now I’m going to go around thinking in a Boston accent all day:  “Aaron, we need to get gas for the cah.  Let’s play cahds, but don’t be a cheetah.”  Cheater.  Get it?

Aaanyway…

After I made the chowder, Aaron added a couple jalapenos to the simmering concoction.  We had quite a bit left over, so I froze most of the leftovers as baby food for B-Boy.  Brilliant, right?  You followin’ me?  Can you tell what’s about to happen?

Yeah, I reheated the chowder, fed Bronson a bite, and he shivered and looked totally confused.  I fed him another bite.  Same reaction.  A third.  I thought I was a quick learner… Finally I thought, “Maybe it spoiled,” so I tasted it.  Ohh yeah.  Jalapeno.

So I heated up some veggies for him.  Poor kid.  He didn’t cry, though, so I suspect he didn’t hate it.

 

Fish Chowder

2 cups firm fish, chopped (I used grouper from A-Man’s deep sea fishing trip)
1 onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
Old Bay seasoning, a good hearty shake (or two)
3-4 stalks celery, sliced
3-4 carrots, sliced
2-3 potatoes, cubed
4 cups stock
2 cups half-and-half

 


In a splash of olive oil, brown fish.

 


Add onion, garlic and seasoning.  Sauté until onions are browning and soft.

 


Add celery, carrots and potatoes.  Continue to cook.

 


Add stock.  Simmer until potatoes are tender.

 


Add cream.  Simmer until heated through or until you’re ready to eat it!

2 thoughts on “(27) Fish Chowder

  1. Summer says:

    Poor little B-boy. Does he every really cry, though? He didn’t complain when he had to eat my horrible mashed sweet potatoes 3 days in a row. I still feel bad about that.

Leave a Reply

