(28-29) Chili-Stuffed Potatoes & Jalapeno-Cheese Scones

Oh wow.

For two reasons:

1. Aaron made a LOT of chili.  My husband loves him some chili and always makes enough to feed four or five families.

2. Jalapeno-Cheese scones?  Rawr.

So, after shoving spoonfuls of chili down the red peppers’ throats, I still had a container full of the stuff sitting in my fridge.  So, what could I do but stuff it in another unsuspecting vegetable?

Enter Mr. Potato.

Also, I’ve been perusing Joy the Baker’s site and these scones looked ridiculous, so I made them.  I don’t actually love corn bread so much, so these seemed like a pretty decent compromise.  This is the first time, by the way, I have ever made scones I liked (or that even turned out halfway attractive).  It really is all in the recipe sometimes.  The previous scone attempt (a decade ago, by the way) followed a recipe that instructed me to form each scone individually.  Dumb.  And they were dry, dry, dry. So I have had an unspoken hatred of scones ever since.  This recipe changed me.  And my scone prejudice. Now I’m a little obsessed with scones.

And yes, I can say scones one more time.

Scones.

 

Chili-Stuffed Potatoes

Chili
Potatoes
Toppings (might I suggest something super healthy like cheese, sour cream and avocado?)

 


Bake potatoes in oven for 1 hour at 350°.  Meanwhile, heat chili in a saucepan.  Cut open the potato, smother it with chili, and finish off with desired toppings.

 

Jalapeno-Cheese Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter, cold, cut into cubes
2 large eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 pound Monterrey jack cheese
2 medium jalapenos, diced

 


Sauté jalapenos in olive oil.  Cook until softened.

 


Let peppers cool, then add to diced cheese.

 


In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt.

 


Cut in butter until mixture is coarse and crumbly.

 


Whisk together eggs and cream.

 


Incorporate wet ingredients into dry.

 


Toss in the cheese and jalapenos.

 


Turn dough out onto floured surface and form into a wheel.

 


Slice into six triangles.

 


Place on parchment-lined baking pan (or silicon baking mat) and brush with cream.

 


Bake at 400° for 20-25 minutes.  Then devour.

2 thoughts on “(28-29) Chili-Stuffed Potatoes & Jalapeno-Cheese Scones

  1. Summer says:

    Those scones look delicious. Were they spicy?

Leave a Reply

