(36) Mediterranean Chicken Salad

I turned 29 (the real 29) a couple of weeks ago.  Sunday, I went to the Clinique counter to purchase some eye wrinkle cream.  I couldn’t decide between “All About Eyes” and “All About Eyes Rich,” so I asked one of the sales associates.

She said, “The original is lighter weight and the Rich is heavier, more moisturizing.  So do you feel like you need more moisture?”

I said, “I think I do,” then sort of trailed off, indicating I’d like her input (i.e. look at the wrinkles under my eyes and tell me if you think they’re bad enough to require the “Rich” formula).

So she said, “Then I’d go with the Rich.”

Because the two creams were the same price, I have to assume that she wasn’t trying to up-sell me but was instead saying, “You look like an old hag and need all the help you can get.”

But then, when buying wine last night, the cashier carded me.

The eye cream must be working!

Or maybe it’s all the salad I’ve been eating.  I love fresh, crisp vegetables, so I definitely prefer Summer produce to Winter produce.  Thankfully Winter does yield some salad greens, so I can still have some seasonal, raw vegetables.  Add some bulgar wheat and chicken, and you have a hearty enough meal to fill you up on a cool night.

*recipe from Southern Living

2 cups boiling water
1 cup uncooked bulgur wheat
1-1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups chopped cooked chicken
1 cup grape tomatoes
2 garlic cloves, pressed
3/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/2 cup Caesar dressing
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
4 ounces feta cheese
1 medium cucumber, chopped
4 cups lettuce

Combine boiling water, bulgur wheat, and 1 teaspoon salt.  Cover and let stand 20 minutes or until tender.  Drain and rinse with cold water.

Combine bulgar wheat, chicken, tomatoes, garlic, parsley, red onion, feta, cucumber and lettuce.  Drizzle with Caesar dressing.

One thought on “(36) Mediterranean Chicken Salad

  1. Summer says:

    You got carded because you look 14.

Leave a Reply

