(76) Candied Beets

A few weeks ago, we harvested a few beets from our (Aaron’s) garden.  I remembered my mom serving kind of sweet beets (though they were canned) when I was a little girl, so I asked my dad about how they were made.  Were they candied?  Pickled?  He wasn’t sure, but he thought there was probably cloves in them.  Hm.  At least that was a start, right?

I did a few internet searches and found a wide variety of recipes, so I just made up my own.  As a result, I have no idea what the measurements were of any of the ingredients.  Sorry, Charlie.  You’ll live.

To make these candied/pickled (???) beets, first slice up some beets (There she goes again with the rocket science…).

Marvel at their color, then toss them in a pan with some water, sugar, vinegar (just a splash), and cloves.

Usually recipes call for only one or two cloves.  I don’t understand this (as you can tell from the photograph above).  I like WHAM-O flavor, so I used several cloves.  Several.  You do it how you like it, though.  By all means only use one or two (or zero) cloves.  You could even sprinkle in some cinnamon.  They’re your beets!  Spice ’em how you like ’em!

Bring the water to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer until the beets are soft (probably upwards of 30 minutes).  I didn’t use very much sugar, just enough to bring out the natural sweetness of the beets.  But again, do it how you like it, girl!  (Or boy!)

Leave a Reply

